RSS

As you say it and take action you made that real.

12 Aug

The message in this interview with Will Smith is brilliant. Unfortunately, the audio is a bit rough and it’s difficult to hear, so below this video, we have transcribed the full text. The video begins with the interviewer asking a question related to the book The Power of Positive Thinking, and then Will Smith takes over with a passionate speech about the power of the human will.

.

.

Will Smith: It’s interesting – as an actor, I search for the one thing that I connect to with the character. Whether it’s, you know… before I play a character I want to build on one thing – what is the one connective idea, that connective tissue between myself and this character that I can have.

And Chris (Chris Gardner, writer of The Pursuit of Happiness) and I were both raised in very spiritual households, and we both believe – whole-heartedly – that our thoughts, our feelings, our dreams, our ideas, are physical in the universe.

That, if we dream something, if we picture something, and we commit ourselves to it, that that is a physical thurst towards the realization that we can put into the universe.

That the universe is not a thing that is going to push us around. That the world, and people, and situations are not something that is going to push us around.

That we are going to bend the universe, and command, and demand that the universe become what we want it to be.

And that links back to a very spiritual upbringing. For me it was my mother and grandmother, and… for Chris, it was his mother, and there’s a term that Chris always uses — I want to get it right, Chris, you called it, uh – Spiritual Genetics.

That, there is a spirit of a person – and he feels that it was his mother – he has this spiritual genetics that his mother embodied, and that is the idea that was my … the first connective tissue that I connected to with Chris.

Someone asked me a question – I was in Europe a few weeks ago promoting the movie – and the person asked me what is my preoccupation with happy endings, right? And, you know, if there’s one thing that people would walk away from this movie with, that would be my deepest hope…

And I was sort of thrown by that a little bit, you know, am I preoccupied with happy endings? And, the tone was that that was unrealistic, and the question threw me because I feel like “don’t we all want to a happy ending?”

Like is anyone sitting out there right now like “damn, I hope I get hit by a car when I go outside? You know life’s too good I just want someone to run me the hell over when I go outside!”

I feel like, the first thing – YOU HAVE TO BELIEVE IT. Right? Like, you’ve got to believe that you can be married happily for 50 years if you ever expect to be married happily for 50 years. Like, you can’t talk about how unrealistic it is to be married happily for 50 years and expect it to happen.

It’s unrealistic to walk into a room and flip a switch and lights come on… that’s unrealistic. Fortunately, Edison didn’t think so. It’s unrealistic to… (audience member interrupts with some shouting to which Will jokingly responds “Security!”)

It’s unrealistic to think that you’re going to bend a piece of metal and fly people over an ocean in that metal. That’s unrealistic, but fortunately, the Wright brothers and others didn’t believe that. And it just seems like such a ridiculous idea to me to embrace the idea that “it’s not going to happen,” and “that’s not really for that to happen.”

As soon as you say it, now you just made that real, you know? I connect it to… also with racism. People ask me about racism in Hollywood. Why would I acknowledge racism? When you acknowledge the obstacle you actually give it power by the acknowledgement of it.

.

I AM GONNA WALK THROUGH IT, I AM GONNA WALK OVER IT, I AM GONNA WALK AROUND IT!

.

So I would say that my preoccupation is with the power that we all possess individually, and I refuse to relinquish my power. So my preoccupation with a happy ending is that is our power to believe in that possibility is our power and don’t give it away to anybody.

.

Source: Mind Bending Videos

.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 12, 2018 in WISDOM

 

Leave a comment

 
Craig Hill Media

Journalist/Social Justice Campaigner/Education & Business Consultant

Mightyman Vukeya

DNS is in my DNA

Chris Brake Show Podcast

LIVE! Every Wednesday @ 8pm Eastern / 7pm Central on StrangeLabel.com

wqp88888

Just another WordPress.com site

Incognito

Just another WordPress.com site

Lama Surya Das

Lama Surya Das, the most highly trained American lama in the Tibetan tradition.

My Life as an Artist (2)

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

juliesiteblogdotcom1

A great WordPress.com site

Joseph Matheny

Multidisciplinary Artist | Liminal Fiction | Alternate Reality Games

My Story of Organized Crime, Organized Stalking, Public/Political Corruption and Domestic Terrorism

Over a decade of organized stalking, extortion, schemes to defraud, racketeering/murder in aid thereof, in colossal proportion.

dianetot's Blog

its all about life,love,passion,desires,truth

BEYOND

Parapsychology is what's beyond the humans and metaphysics is what's beyond nature, and both define the same thing... God.

Michelduchaine

Défenseur de la Terre/Defender of the Earth

Hathor Rabiah

A new name. A new city. A new life.

Opening Duirs

SOCIAL ENGINEERING AND PROGRAMMING

Cracked

The Chocolately, Nutty, Interior of my life and Psychology

Cindi Gale

To every thing there is a season ~

The Sting Of The Scorpion Blog (T.S.O.T.S.B.)

.......................Because Everything Else Just Bites!

Poetry Inspector

Favorites from around the Web

Los Sentidos De La Vida

Un Blog de Cine, Musica, Vinos... En 75 palabras aprox.

My Time is Now

Dancing With The Elderly- A Hollywood Actress's Day Job

let the free birds fly

surviving creating instigating

Qubethink

Permutate

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

diary of a single mom in the south

my life, my love, my story

Dean Baker's Poetry and Songs

A Canadian poet, his poetry & other works

Gorgeous

Ramblings from a disturbed mind ©2013 Cho Wan Yau

Middle-Aged Martial Arts Mom

Loving a crippling compulsion....

lovinchelle

LIVING LIFE AND TAKING PICS ALONG THE WAY.

Just me being curious

A blog of questions and few answers.

I Dont Want To Talk About It

The Ultimate Paradox: Depression in Sobriety

Shepherd Mulwanda

ICT Research Training and Consultancy,Agriculture for Youth Development.

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

White Shadows

Story of a white pearl that turned to ashes while waiting for a pheonix to be born inside her !

dancingwithanother

Trying to make sense of turmoil

Dince's Chronicles

My Personal Blog

Awareness It Self

Quotes for spiritual enjoyment

Doug Does Life

A Creative Monkey On How To Find Your Path In Life.

existences!

philo poétique de G à L I B E R

How my heart sings

Mainly poetry illustrated by beautiful photographs and digital art

muralskp

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

SYL JUXON SMITH'S BLOG

Changing Our Mindset is the Imperative and Way Forward

ALL DIRECTIONS ALL SPEEDS

my transformational journey into new light and occasional gushing of mind and heart - Corozal, Belize, CA

Life as Improv

Saying "Yes, and..." to life on the unfolding path to remembering full self.

Total Well-being

blog for www.radiance-solutions.co.uk